Dy365 App Twitter Facebook YouTube
Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram Elections: Polling begins as BJP, Congress hope for big wins
Posted on: 28-11-2018 , 09:18:AM | DY365 Bureau

 picture courtesy: NDTV

 November 28, 2018: Voting for 230 assembly seats has started in Madhya Pradesh - one of the most crucial heartland states - where the BJP, led by Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, is seeking a fourth term in power. The Congress is banking on anti-incumbency for what it calls a "make or break election".

Voting is underway in Mizoram, where the BJP is aiming to wrest control from the Congress which has been ruling the northeast state since it was formed in 1987. Polling in the 40-member legislative assembly of the hill state will decide the fate of 209 candidates. The BJP -- which has never won an assembly election in Mizoram - is contesting in 39 seats.

The counting of votes for Madhya Pradesh Pradesh and Mizoram will take place on December 11, along with that of Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Telangana, where assembly elections are also being held.

A polling station in Bhopal. Polling for 227 constituencies in the state will begin at 8 am, while voting for three constituencies has already begun.

Bru refugees come to Mizoram from their camps in Tripura to vote in the Mizoram assembly elections today. Over 12,000 Brus are living in six relief camps in Tripura. They will vote at Kanhmun village in Mamit district, where 15 temporary polling stations have been set up.

In all 768,181 voters, including 393,685 women, are casting their vote in Mizoram. The state with a population of about 10 lakh, including nearly 7.68 lakh voters, is seen by the BJP as the "final frontier" in the North-East as it is in power in all other states of the region -- either by winning polls or aligning with regional parties.

PM Modi has appealed voters in Mizoram to turnout in large numbers.  "I request my sisters and brothers of Mizoram, particularly the dynamic youth of the state, to turnout in large numbers and vote," he tweeted.

PM Modi's party, the BJP, has never won a seat in the 40-member assembly. In all 768,181 voters, including 393,685 women, are casting their vote in Mizoram.

Click here to watch the Live Stream. | High - BB / Droid
Click here to watch Live Stream on iPhone / iPad / iTouch. High| Beta
Dy365 in TATA SKY   Dy365 in Airtel   Dy365 in Dish Tv   Dy365 in Videocon   Dy365 in Big TV   Dy365 in ACC
Channel No : 1953
Channel No : 643
Channel No : 1529
Channel No : 849
Channel No : 784
Channel No : 003
News Sections
Photo Gallery
© 2009-15 DY365, All rights reserved,
Privacy Policy,
Powered by Web.Com (India) Pvt. Ltd.