Dy365 App Twitter Facebook YouTube
Assam's Hriday Hazarika wins gold in Shooting World Championships
Posted on: 07-09-2018 , 01:47:PM | DY365 Bureau

 Picture Credit: Sportstarlive

September 7, 2018: Assam’s 16-year-old junior shooter Hriday Hazarika claimed gold in the men’s 10m air rifle event at the International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) World Championships in Changwon, Korea on Friday. With this feat he becomes the new junior world champion in 10m Air Rifle.


Reportedly, he was the lone Indian to qualify for the final with a score of 627.3 and was tied with Iran’s Mohammed Amir Nekounam on 250.1 once the field was pruned to the regulation top eight.
But the 16-year-old shooter prevailed in a shoot-off at the prestigious International Shooting Sport Federation (ISSF) tournament.
The bronze went to Russia’s Grigorii Shamakov, who managed a score of 228.6 in the final.
The Indian men’s team, comprising Hazarika, Divyansh Panwar and Arjun Babuta, finished fourth with a combined total of 1872.3. On the other hand, the women’s 10m air rifle team of Elavenil Valarivan (631), Shreya Agarwal (628.5) and Manini Kaushik (621.2) had produced a sensational performance to total 1880.7 for gold with a world record to boot.
The score by Elavenil was also a new junior world record.
It may be mentioned that Hazarika hails from Narayanpur in Lakhimpur district and started his career at Sankardev College shooting range. He has already participated in three national championships, two zonal competitions, one GV Mavlangkar shooting competition, two KSS shooting championships and a few others.

Click here to watch the Live Stream. | High - BB / Droid
Click here to watch Live Stream on iPhone / iPad / iTouch. High| Beta
Dy365 in TATA SKY   Dy365 in Airtel   Dy365 in Dish Tv   Dy365 in Videocon   Dy365 in Big TV   Dy365 in ACC
Channel No : 1953
Channel No : 643
Channel No : 1529
Channel No : 849
Channel No : 784
Channel No : 003
News Sections
Photo Gallery
2009-15 DY365, All rights reserved,
Privacy Policy,
Powered by Web.Com (India) Pvt. Ltd.