Dy365 App Twitter Facebook YouTube
FIR lodged against Inland Water Transport Department of Assam after boat capsized in Brahmaputra River
Posted on: 06-09-2018 , 08:49:AM | DY365 Bureau

 Picture for representation purpose


September 6, 2018: In a recent development, an FIR has been lodged against the Inland Water Transport Department of Assam after a boat capsized in the Brahmaputra River, North Guwahati on Wednesday.



As per reports, the FIR has been lodged in North Guwahati’s police station by the “Nodijatri Surakhya Samiti”. FIR has been lodged against the Director of the Inland Water Transport Department along with the chief engineer and junior engineer. Moreover, the driver of the boat Nuru Uddin Ali and helper Halem Ali have been detained.


It may be stated that the boat on Wednesday capsized due to a mechanical glitch and collided with a pillar of a construction company in the river, near the bank of North Guwahati. As per government sources there were 26-27 passengers in the boat whereas according to passengers who survived the accident and locals there were 40-50 passengers in the boat.


It is to be noted that there is no record of passengers’ registration who boarded the boat making complicated to confirm the numbers.


Reportedly, three persons identified as Ankita Boruah, Dimpy Bora and Kamal Das have died in the unfortunate accident whose bodies have been recovered till now whereas two persons have been declared misssing by officials.


Joint search operation by the SDRF, NDRF and the army has been going on in the Brahmaputra River.

Further details awaited.

Click here to watch the Live Stream. | High - BB / Droid
Click here to watch Live Stream on iPhone / iPad / iTouch. High| Beta
Dy365 in TATA SKY   Dy365 in Airtel   Dy365 in Dish Tv   Dy365 in Videocon   Dy365 in Big TV   Dy365 in ACC
Channel No : 1953
Channel No : 643
Channel No : 1529
Channel No : 849
Channel No : 784
Channel No : 003
News Sections
Photo Gallery
2009-15 DY365, All rights reserved,
Privacy Policy,
Powered by Web.Com (India) Pvt. Ltd.