Dy365 App Twitter Facebook YouTube
Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman Election: NDA's Harivansh Narayan Singh wins with 125 votes
Posted on: 09-08-2018 , 12:19:PM | DY365 Bureau

 Picture Courtesy: The Financial Express

August 9, 2018: In a recent development, the Rajya Sabha on Thursday elected NDA's candidate Harivansh Narayan Singh from Nitish Kumar's Janata Dal United as Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson against the joint opposition candidate B K Hariprasad.


Reportedly, the government easily won the election for the post as the opposition came up short in the contest that was seen as a test for its unity in the run-up to the 2019 national election. The government had 125 votes against opposition's 105.
It may be stated that besides the NDA partners of Shiv Sena and Akali Dal the, BJP alliance got support from BJD, AIADMK and TRS, while the opposition alliance led by Congress managed to get support from TMC, DMK, Left parties, SP, BSP, NCP and TDP.
Harivansh is a post-graduate in Economics from Banaras Hindu University (BHU). Harivansh also has PG Diploma in journalism from BHU. It may be mentioned that Harivansh is a first-time MP of the JD-U. 

Click here to watch the Live Stream. | High - BB / Droid
Click here to watch Live Stream on iPhone / iPad / iTouch. High| Beta
Dy365 in TATA SKY   Dy365 in Airtel   Dy365 in Dish Tv   Dy365 in Videocon   Dy365 in Big TV   Dy365 in ACC
Channel No : 1953
Channel No : 643
Channel No : 1529
Channel No : 849
Channel No : 784
Channel No : 003
News Sections
Photo Gallery
2009-15 DY365, All rights reserved,
Privacy Policy,
Powered by Web.Com (India) Pvt. Ltd.