Dy365 App Twitter Facebook YouTube
Shahid Khaqan Abbasi elected as the new Prime Minister of Pakistan
Posted on: 01-08-2017 , 07:55:PM | DY365 Bureau

 Picture Courtesy: Livemint

August 1, 2017: Pakistan's National Assembly elected Shahid Khaqan Abbasi as the Prime Minister of the country on Tuesday, following the disqualification of Nawaz Sharif by the Supreme Court over the Panama Papers scandal.

Abbasi won with a majority after getting 221 votes in the House of 342, defeating the other contenders namely Naveed Qamar of Pakistan Peoples Party (PPP), Sheikh Rashid Ahmed of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and Jamaat-e-Islami's Sahibzada Tariqullah.
Previously, Abbasi was minister of petroleum and natural resources in the outgoing cabinet.
The Supreme Court on Friday disqualified 67-year-old Prime Minister Sharif for dishonesty and ruled that corruption cases be filed against him and his children over the Panama Papers scandal, forcing him to resign.
The National Assembly, the lower house of Parliament, was summoned by President Hussain to elect the new leader.

Click here to watch the Live Stream. | High - BB / Droid
Click here to watch Live Stream on iPhone / iPad / iTouch. High| Beta
Dy365 in TATA SKY   Dy365 in Airtel   Dy365 in Dish Tv   Dy365 in Videocon   Dy365 in Big TV   Dy365 in ACC
Channel No : 1953
Channel No : 643
Channel No : 1529
Channel No : 849
Channel No : 784
Channel No : 003
News Sections
Photo Gallery
2009-15 DY365, All rights reserved,
Privacy Policy,
Powered by Web.Com (India) Pvt. Ltd.